hostsController: DevUpdate #9 – “Changing again?”

Let me be honest with you, my workflow is the worst. The bad thing about indie-development is that you have to do everything by yourself. From security to online stuff, file handling, etc. Some things I like, others I don’t. And when I have to do things I don’t like, I lose motivation really quick. Now don’t get me wrong: I absolutely LOVE doing this stuff, it’s my hobby.

 

But when I work on specific parts that I don’t like I lose focus and months pass by without me touching the project and when I come back to it, I’m like “What the hell does this do?”.

So now I have to go through 3000 lines of code and try to understand and remember what everything does. At the same time, I’m going to revamp hostsController’s interface. First step, as you can see: New icon.

For the interface, I’m keeping the sober look but I’m going to add more darkness. I want to recreate the interface but at the same time I need to, hC 3.1’s interface is not optimized for window resizing and people complained that the main window is too small.

Only to keep you in touch, I’m working on hC 3.2!

Leave a comment

